Water District Notice of Public Hearing on Tax Rate

Fort Bend County Fresh Water Supply District No. 2 (the "<u>District</u>") will hold a public hearing on a proposed tax rate for the tax year 2021 on Tuesday, September 7, 2021, at 6:30 p.m., in person at 15710 Old Richmond Road, Sugar Land, Texas; by Zoom at Meeting ID 899 7518 2377, Pass Code 628287; or by telephone at 1-346-248-7799, Access Code 628287#. Your individual taxes may increase at a greater or lesser rate, or even decrease, depending on the tax rate that is adopted and on the change in the taxable value of your property in relation to the change in taxable value of all other property. The change in the taxable value of your property in relation to the change in the taxable value of all other property determines the distribution of the tax burden among all property owners.

FOR the proposal: Carmen Martinez, Rufus Green, Stewart Goldie & Alex Arias

AGAINST the proposal: None PRESENT and not voting: None

ABSENT: Suntera Scott

The following table compares taxes on an average residence homestead in this taxing unit last year to taxes proposed on the average residence homestead this year.

	Last Year		This Year
Total tax rate (per \$100 of value)	\$0.5300/\$100 Adopted		\$0.5300/\$100 Proposed
Difference in rates per \$100 of value		\$0.0/\$100	
Percentage increase/decrease in rates (+/-)		0.00%	
Average appraised residential homestead value	\$128,345		\$128,690
General homestead exemptions available (excluding 65 years of age or older or disabled person's exemptions)	\$25,669		<u>\$25,738</u>
Average residential homestead taxable value	\$102,676		\$102,952
Tax on average residence homestead	\$544.18		\$545.64
Annual increase/decrease in taxes if			
proposed tax rate is adopted (+/-)		(\$4.89)	
and percentage of increase (+/-)		-0.89%	

NOTICE OF THE TAXPAYERS' RIGHT TO ELECTION TO REDUCE TAX RATE

If the District adopts a combined debt service, operation and maintenance, and contract tax rate that would result in the taxes on the average residence homestead increasing by more than eight percent (8%), the qualified voters of the District by petition may require that an election be held to determine whether to reduce the operation and maintenance tax rate to the voter-approval tax rate under Section 49.23603, Water Code.

The 86 th Texas Legislature modified the manner in which the voter-approval tax rate is calculated to limit the rate of growth of property taxes in the state.			